Since 2005 the Institute of Rural History is registered as a non-profit association.

The Association's Board (2019-2021)

  • Chairman: Ernst Langthaler
  • Vice-Chairman: Margareth Lanzinger
  • Treasurer: Stefan Eminger
  • Vice-Treasurer: Erich Landsteiner
  • Secretary: Achim Doppler
  • Vice-Secretary: Matthias Kafka
  • Director (with an advisory vote): Ulrich Schwarz-Gräber

Honorary Members

  • Ernst Bruckmüller (Honorary Chairman due to his merits as Professor of Economic and Social History at the University of Vienna and founding director of the Institute of Rural History)
  • Anton Eggendorfer (Honorary Member due to his merits as Director of the Archive of the Province of Lower Austria)


Both individuals and institutions are welcome to join the Association of the Institute of Rural History as supporting members. The membership fee for institutions is EUR 200, for individuals EUR 40 and for students EUR 20 per year. The Yearbook of Rural History is included in the fee. Please use the Beitrittsformular.